An oscilloscope measures time-dependent signals, such as sinusoidal oscillations. If a signal to be measured is connected to the oscilloscope, the device does not know anything about type and frequency of the signal. How is the oscilloscope supposed to display an unknown signal?

One possibility is to make a so-called "single acquisition" without (or with free-running) trigger. The signal is sampled once and shown only once. Now, if you want to display the signal constantly, you would have to press the "single acquisition" button constantly, which seems very impractical. In addition, the signal would start at a different location each time it is sampled, so that the signal shape is phase-shifted while being displayed.

A better possibility is archived by using a trigger. A trigger is actually a component that starts a switching operation. In oscilloscopes, the trigger synchronizes the display with the signal.

You can trigger to the signal itself or to an external signal (frequently EXT input on the oscilloscope). It is possible to react to rising or falling signals.

Representation of different trigger settings at the oscilloscope.

Various trigger settings for the oscilloscope.

As shown in the figure above, the trigger level is represented by a small arrow at the left side of the oscilloscope. It defines timepoint "zero" for the selected signal level. The signal is displayed from the point in time when it reaches the trigger level. The trigger level therefore has the unit "Volt". The figure shows that the waveform shifts when you set the trigger level to a different value, since the signal level at the left edge of the display changes. Since the signal level at the left edge of the display (time 0) is different, the display "shifts" to the left. Additionally oscilloscopes can trigger falling or rising edges. Depending on the type of trigger the setting changes the zero point of the waveform. Trigger settings can be tested within our oscilloscope simulator .

If you have an oscilloscope with "Ext" input, an external signal can be used as trigger signal. Often this is a square-wave signal synchronous to the measuring signal shape, which is provided, for example, by frequency generators.

Ein Oszilloskop misst zeitabhängige Signale, wie z.B. Sinusschwingungen. Schließt man ein zu messendes Signal an das Oszilloskop an, weiß dieses jedoch nichts über die Art und die Frequenz des Signals. Wie soll das Oszilloskop das Signal nun auf dem Schirm darstellen?

Eine Möglichkeit ist, eine sogenannte "Single-Acquisition" ohne (bzw. mit freilaufendem) Trigger zu machen. Dann wird das Signal mit der gewählten Rate EINMAL abgetastet und dargestellt. Will man nun das Signal ständig beobachten, müsste man auch die Single-Taste ständig drücken, was sehr unpraktisch ist. Zudem fängt das Signal jedes Mal an einer anderen Stelle an, so dass die Signalform phasenverschoben auf dem Display dargestellt wird.

Die bessere Möglichkeit ist die Messung mit einem Trigger. Ein Trigger ist eigentlich ein Bauteil, dass einen Schaltvorgang auslöst. Im Zusammenhang mit Oszilloskopen synchronisiert der Trigger die Darstellung mit dem Bildschirm. Trigger steht im Englischen für "Auslösen", daher erklärt sich der Name. Grundsätzlich kann man auf das Signal selbst oder auf ein externes Signal (häufig EXT-Eingang am Oszilloskop) triggern. Man kann auf steigende oder fallende Signale triggern.

Darstellung von verschiedene Triggereinstellungen beim
Oszilloskop.

Verschiedene Triggereinstellungen beim Oszilloskop.

Wie in der obigen Abbildung ersichtlich, zeigt sich der Triggerlevel häufig als kleiner Pfeil am Rand des Oszilloskops. Er definiert, bei welchem Signalpegel der "Nullzeitpunkt" des Signals festgelegt wird. Das Signal wird ab dem Zeitpunkt dargestellt, ab dem es den Triggerlevel erreicht. Der Triggerlevel hat also die Einheit "Volt". Die Abbildung zeigt, dass sich die Signalform verschiebt, wenn man den Triggerlevel ändert. Da ja der Signalpegel am linken Displayrand (Zeitpunkt 0) ein anderer ist, "verschiebt" sich die Darstellung nach links. Zudem kann man häufig fallende oder steigende Flanke wählen. Je nach Art des Triggers ändert sich der Nullpunkt der Signalform. Der Trigger kann auf dieser Seite hier im Oszilloskop-Simulator getestet werden.

Verfügt man über ein Oszilloskop mit "Ext"-Eingang, wird ein zweites Referenzsignal als Triggerflanke genommen. Häufig ist dies ein Rechtecksignal synchron zur messenden Signalform, was z. B. von Frequenzgeneratoren bereitgestellt wird.